Why vampires? It’s Keanu Reeves’ fault.

It all began with Bram Stoker’s Dracula in 1992. I was 12, and apparently very impressionable. I went to see the movie with my best friend at the time, thinking that Keanu Reeves was the hot guy draw.

Now, I’m not saying that Keanu isn’t an attractive man. By no means. He is, in fact, quite a looker and has only remained very good-looking as he’s aged. His kindness and humanity, known both on and off set, only make him more attractive (to be honest).

However, I went into Dracula thinking that I was getting my fill of Keanu Reeves. I was a fan of Bill & Ted as well as Point Break, so the idea of seeing him on screen when I was the ripe young age of 12 was a huge deal. I was so incredibly excited!

Then a sans-makeup Gary Oldman came on screen, and hubba hubba, my teen heart went into overdrive. He said all the right words, portrayed the angst of long lost love, and dove into that character like Michael Phelps into a pool.

Where had Gary Oldman been all my young life? He was dead sexy. Did I care that he was really a crusty old man (once they put the makeup on)? Nope. He was romance personified, and I wanted to find someone like that for myself one day. Swoon.

Then vampires became my ‘thing’. I watched so many movies and tv-series: Blade, The Hunger, The Lost Boys, Dracula 2000, Kindred the Embraced, Vampire Hunter D: Bloodlust, Dark Shadows… The list just grew and grew. But none of it was as sexy or romantic as Bram Stoker’s Dracula. None of it made me feel the way that Gary Oldman had, and no other movie or tv-show exuded the same desperation to be with your one true love and to spend eternity with them in your arms.

Do I get turned on by seeing him bite her or drink blood? Not necessarily. But you’ve got to admit there is a closeness in the act, an intimacy. Would I do it? I’m a romantic realist – as much as I want my own Gary Oldman/Dracula vampire, I’m not drinking someone’s blood.

But a playful nip wouldn’t hurt. 😉

So there you have it: Keanu Reeves led me to my love of vampires. I’d love to hear if you have a love of vampires and what led you to them. Email me at info@shannacrobillard.com or post a comment here!

Published by Shanna Robillard

Wife to a northern man, mother to a four-legged beastie, and a lover of crystals and gems, vampires, fantasy, and creating stories! Shanna Robillard is the author of the Beyond the Shadows trilogy, as well as A Tale by Moonlight, The Seven Lives of May Levesque, Folklore: The Beginning, and Queen of the High Seas.

Leave a comment